Metal Bike Commuter


Yesterday and Today

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on May 22, 2008

I woke up feeling rather tired because I was up last night watching the flick, “Into The Wild”. Yeah, it was an ok movie, but I felt (and confirmed this morning) that there was some artistic stretching regarding this true story. Basically, rich upper-class boy is tired of modern society and goes into the wilderness to try and survive. While he had great intentions, it culminated in his death of starvation (or poison, depending on the expert). Unfortunately, had this dude been more prepared, he would have escaped his untimely death and lived to speak about his time spent in a busted bus in the middle of Alaska.

Anyway, I did ride home last night. My wife dropped me off at work, and picked me up for my MS exam I have been spending nights studying for. Remember, there are two ways to doing things:

1. The right way.
2. The Microsoft way.

In order to pass these exams, you need to learn the “Microsoft Way.” Sounds like a cult. I don’t hate MS, so I won’t spend too much time bashing on the s/w company. All I know is, you won’t find me dropping 600.00 for a phone that looks “sexy.”

The ride home was awesome. While the roads were wet, I escaped the few drops of rain that came later. About 4 out of the 6 miles was bumper-to-bumper traffic. I even had some energy and stepped it up a bit up the two large hills. I noticed there are more grills cooking steaks, hot dogs, and hamburgers lately. This is something I would not notice while trapped in my car.

Speaking of trapped, I began the morning ready to roll. Well, when I stepped out my back door it was pouring out. Darn. I changed into my work clothes and resigned to the fact that I’d be using a stick shift and steering wheel this morning instead of the bike. Hopefully I’ll end the week on a good note. I’m already getting addicted to this.

>note< I woke up really tired this morning. I had my usual lazy thoughts of wanting to stay in bed and leave at the last minute. Then a thought came to me. I wanted to ride. So I got out of bed, hit the showers, packed my backpack up, and clothed and ready to ride, stepped out into the pouring rain. Sorry, but I’m not that addicted to bicycling.

One Response to 'Yesterday and Today'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Yesterday and Today'.

  1. Elizabeth said,

    This is great! Let me know if you’d like to link exchange.


Leave a Reply

