Metal Bike Commuter


Step it up

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on June 2, 2008
Tags:

Stumbling out of bed after a late night watching This is Spinal Tap for probably the 20th time, I was in no mood to ride. The kind of mood that means I need to ride to maintain sanity. As I was carrying my bicycle up the stairs from my basement I smacked my head hard on the metal frame of the hatchway doors (or bilco doors, as NJ folks call them). Wow, that really smarted. I expected to have a bugs bunny-esque lump growing on the top of my head. While there is a bump, my thick hippie hair is doing a fine job of hiding the convex growth.

This just made me angry. I was civil to the wife and kid (darling daughter was asleep, so I gave her a little kiss on the forehead) and dashed out of the house. I guess I didn’t realize how fast I was going, because I was at work faster than usual, and some of the hills that have been a challenge were easily summited. Bring em on was my attitude this morning. On the 25 MPH streets, I maintained speed and even passed some cars.

I arrived at work safe and sweaty. Took me about 10 minutes to recover from the slam fest, but all is good now.

Week Total: 6 Miles.

Leave a Reply

