Metal Bike Commuter


48 Miles This Week

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on June 13, 2008
Tags: , ,

So the ride back home tonight will mean I have ridden 4 out of 5 workdays to work without placing a key in an ignition.  This totals 48 miles, and I plan on riding some more tomorrow.  (At least when I can pull away from all the house work my wife has ordered me to do).

I noticed there is still an excessive amount of rust on my chain and gears.  Not as bad when I last cleaned it, but I apparently didn’t remove enough.  I think I will purchase some WD40 this weekend, take the chain off and give it a nice thorough cleaning.  If you don’t attack rust early, it will begin to eat away at the frame, etc.

(While I like my bike, I am “ploying” for a new one – gotta sell the wife, ya know?)

My wife is 8 mos pregnant.  We have a 2 year old daughter.  We’re both in our 20s, so we’re healthy enough.  We have been pondering the prospect of bike trailers for our younguns.  I want my kids to grow up loving bikes as I did when I was just a kiddo.  My main concern is safety.  Having never used one, I don’t know how this affects my center of gravity, how aware the average driver is of these, and how comfortable the different types are for children.

No pictures today, though I plan on carrying around my camera all next work shooting away liberally.  Enjoy the weekend, ride some trails.

Leave a Reply

