Metal Bike Commuter


Short Commute?

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on June 26, 2008
Tags: , ,

I’m getting to the point where I think my 6 miles each way is too short of a commute.  Without much effort, it is taking me about 30 to 40 minutes.  This is without having a proper commuter setup (no saddles, etc.).  My fat tires probably slow me down a bit, but I love the smooth ride the front suspension enables.  Besides, I am usually running into some sort of debris on the side of the road.

I’ve been riding for over a month now averaging 3 days a week at 36 miles.  If I can ride everyday, that would mean 60 miles.  Maybe instead of trying to add extra miles, I can try to ride everyday for a few solid weeks to see if I notice a physical payoff.

While I’m lucky to live close to work, I think it is true that those who average 20+ miles a day are happiest.  I guess I should try for some weekend riding on trails.

Anyway, nothing unusual or interesting to discuss, just logging my miles:

Weekly Total: 18.

4 Responses to 'Short Commute?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Short Commute?'.

  1. kendra said,

    I think it’s awesome that it is really working out for you! I hope to see you at the ride tomorrow, at least haul the family down to the art show at Marty’s @ 7 ish.

  2. metaljaybird said,

    Right, I almost forgot. And “d’oh!”, I did forgot to set my alarm clock this morning. That means no bike ride this morning :(. Also, I was stuck in traffic the minute I pulled out of my driveway because of the crime scene setup around the corner which closed a number of streets. A cop shot and killed a 21 year old kid.

  3. Dean said,

    Add a stop to your trip if you can, maybe somewhere to run an errand or just find some nice roads. Riding even 10 minutes on some road/trail you’ve never been on can make a ride seem much much longer.

  4. metaljaybird said,

    Good point, Dean. I just have to drag myself out of bed a little earlier.


Leave a Reply

