Metal Bike Commuter


First official flat whilst bike commuting

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on August 27, 2008
Tags: ,

While riding in this morning, the first half was pleasant and easy.  About 2/3rds of the way towards work, I started feeling sluggish.  Looking at my speed, I wondered why I wasn’t moving my average MPHs up and down the same hills, and around the same corners.

As I coasted into the parking lot of my place of business, I felt the rear tire squish left when I turned right.  It was then I realized I had a leak.  Instead of heading to the work entrance, I pointed my bike towards my car.  While loading it into the trunk, I noticed a small split in the middle of the tread.  The rear tire is pretty bald too.  I guess I’ll make a visit to Marty’s during lunch to pick up some supplies.  I need a new tube, and a patch kit would be in order too.

I love learning things the hard way.

UPDATE, HOURS LATER:  Ok, I believe I was able to repair the tube.  I actually do have a patch kit contrary to my previous statement.  However, my tire is definitely on its last mile.  I’m surprised I haven’t blown the tube considering how worn the tread is.  Hopefully the air will still be in the tire when I leave for home.  A quick spin around the parking lot proved fine for the time being.

On a side note, I was embarrased to see how filthy the underside of the down tube is on my bicycle.  I am going to be doing some serious maintenance and cleaning this weekend.  Some of the components might be beyond cleaning!

5 Responses to 'First official flat whilst bike commuting'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'First official flat whilst bike commuting'.

  1. Digital Dame said,

    I’m still waiting for my first flat. So far, so good (knocking furiously on wood!)

  2. metaljaybird said,

    Yeah, I had one while riding for recreational purposes on a Saturday, so it doesn’t count as my commute flat. The other flat happened about a month ago while I was riding around Tourne Park in Mountain Lakes. It was my fault, as I inflated my tire to a higher PSI (80 or so).

  3. Dean said,

    drat! I just busted a spoke. Must’ve been the extra weight of the shoes I hauled in today. I’ve gotta spoke wrench so I should be able to get the wheel round enough so that it wont hit my fender each revolution! I was wondering why I was so slow this morning!
    btw: I’ve been checking my tires every few weeks for debris, glass, metal and I’m finding all sorts of crap. Really small stuff to pick out with some small flathead screwdriver, the crud eventually digs deeper til it finds your tube. I think the towns around here have’nt done a proper sweeping job this year with all the budget tightening going on.

  4. Digital Dame said,

    The roads here are ok, but the shoulders/bike lanes never get cleaned. I ran over one of those torn retread tires in the lane one day. I was so busy watching for glass and crap in the lane I didn’t see the dang thing until a second before I hit it. No damage, it was just the rubber.

    BTW Dean, love your site and have a link to it on my blog.

  5. metaljaybird said,

    Dean, I’ve noticed it too. My concern is that it will only get worse as we head into more cooler months. I don’t have much experience commuting in fall/winter, so I’d imagine I’ll have to be even more on the watch guard.

    DD, I just spent a half hour watching a few safety videos on the bikecommuters blog: http://www.bikecommuters.com/2008/08/28/drive-your-bike/ Very sensible and I will practice these on the way home. I’m not sure I can deal with a helmet mirror though.


Leave a Reply

