Metal Bike Commuter


Be Honest…

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on September 19, 2008
Tags: ,

…Have you ever ridden while listening to your iPod or MP3 player?  I haven’t but it is a huge temptation.

9 Responses to 'Be Honest…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Be Honest…'.

  1. Bryan said,

    Nope.

  2. Fixup said,

    Be honest. Have you ever driven a car while listening to the stereo?

  3. mjb said,

    No Fixup, I never have. :rolls eyes: If you can find me surround sound stereo speakers to hookup to my bike then let me know! I’m not sure I’m totally comfortable with plugging my ears up while dealing with NJ drivers.

  4. Fixup said,

    Not sure why you roll your eyes. Please, I’m curious.

    I sometimes drive with the stereo on, just to kill the boredom. It doesn’t impair my ability to drive the car safely.

    I occasionally listen to an mp3 player while cycling. I don’t have it so loud that it blocks out external sound. If you have it on at a certain level you can hear the music but you can still hear everything that’s going on around you. The only reason that I don’t use it all the time is because the wires annoy me.

    I don’t know why so many people have a problem with cyclists listening to music while cycling. It doesn’t impair awareness or cycling abiluty in normal people. It’s not like riding with your eyes closed.

    Maybe there are some stupid people out there who seem incapable of cycling safely while listening to music, but that’s their problem; they’re bad cyclists. It doesn’t mean that listening to music whilst cycling is inherently unsafe.

  5. metaljaybird said,

    Ah, no worries man. It is something I haven’t done. I would likely become too distracted by the music were I to try it while riding. Driving is a bit different, IMO. We’re a bit safer in a car…

    I see driving with music, and riding with music as two separate things.

  6. Digital Dame said,

    I actually own neither an iPod, nor an MP3 player. I know, it’s incredible. Been thinking about getting rid of the cell phone, but I like to have that in case of emergency. I use it so little that it’s getting hard to justify having it. I guess I’m just not a gadget person.

  7. metaljaybird said,

    Dame,

    You have it right. I am attached to my cell phone because of work. I would ditch it in a heartbeat were I permitted.


  8. I do ride with an I-Pod but turned down so I can hear the traffic. Being in a small town and have a trail that runs by my work I find nothing wrong with riding with an I-Pod playing.

  9. Apertome said,

    I have never tried it, but it is tempting. Or it would be, if I *had* an MP3 player. But even if I did, I wouldn’t listen to it while riding — it just seems unsafe.


Leave a Reply

