Metal Bike Commuter


So I’ve been cruising.

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on September 24, 2008
Tags: ,

I feel like I have been on a roll this week.  The past few weeks have been filled with an overall inconsistency when commuting.  Some days I’d do half commutes, some days none, and about once a week, a full round trip.  Needless to say, I was in a funk.

Sure, I had some valid excuses.  We just had a baby, and so were going through the usual night time events required of when raising a newborn.  And I was busy with vacation time.  Unfortunately, there were some days that I had no reason not to ride.  Those days were my lazy days.  Some of those days were nice and warm with the sun shinning down just perfectly.

There were days I would be driving and wondering why.  Why am I doing this to myself?  I am not the most patient of drivers, so anytime I get stuck in traffic, and someone does something stupid, it sets my blood to a boiling point.  My cure is to bike commute.  Even when I encounter those same stupid drivers while on the bike, I find myself less hassled.

I’ve been known to ride with a goofy grin on my face while it is pouring rain.  I think I am starting to reach a turning point.  We’ll see how this pans out when the weather becomes a challenge.  Despite my larger-than-average frame size, I am not a big fan of cold weather.  Sure, it feels good when stepping outside for a few minutes, but how does it feel when the wind is cutting like razor blades while gliding down a hill with low visibility because your eyes are tearing up from the frigid weather?

Well, here’s hoping for some good riding the rest of the year.

3 Responses to 'So I’ve been cruising.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'So I’ve been cruising.'.


  1. Don’t worry, what you are experiencing is the same thing me and a lot of others are going through. As you might have seen, Noah of KC Bike wrote a blurb on staying motivated to ride. I found some common suggestions he made and had come up with a few of my own for my blog. (I am still writing it) I think the reason I am finding it hard to ride everyday is the change in weather and the lack of sun light in the morning. It seems so much easier to get out on the road when the sun is up and the day is warm. In the winter season I find myself struggling to justify the reasons to ride to work. When I do finally get out and began my ride, I find about half way through it I start to question my own sanity.

    I think if all of us keep writing we can use the blog a support group to help us all get through the winter. My feeling is that this winter season could be cold and snowy one.

    If you get a chance to check my blog out I have a few things that keeps me motivated to stay on the bike during the year, they may help you. (I should be posting here soon)

  2. metaljaybird said,

    Hi CCC,

    Thanks for the comment. I’ll be sure to check your blog out.

  3. Apertome said,

    Don’t sweat it, you’ll be fine. You can ride year round with relative comfort, if you find what clothing works well. In all but the coldest weather, I wear a Descente Element jacket (which is really just a shell), with varying layers beneath it depending on the temperature, wind, etc. And if you feel a bit cold, ride harder!

    I actually find inclement weather commutes fun … sometimes. Sometimes it’s just a pain.

    Also, I am lucky that I am extremely warm-blooded, and have a short commute.


Leave a Reply

