Metal Bike Commuter


That was close!

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on September 30, 2008
Tags:

Yesterday morning, I’m riding to work a bit groggy and in a sour mood.  I took my usual turn into the A&P parking lot to avoid the traffic at the intersection.  While coasting towards the stop sign, a car speeds up to beat me and makes the left onto the side street towards the main road.

Well, I thought to myself, I’m going to beat this fool to this stop sign.  So I pedal it harder but the car beats me.  Wait, she’s stuck because of all the traffic.  I push harder.  I pull alongside the right of the automobile.  Maybe I’ll beat her before she turns right.  So I continue.  She starts moving.  We’re both moving.  Oops, her car is cutting the corner…closer to me, I better brake.  Brakes work well.  Whew, that was close!  That was stupid!

I finally pull out and slowly pass her on the shoulder as she’s still stuck in traffic.  Lesson learned:  Don’t pass cars from the right at stop signs.

2 Responses to 'That was close!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'That was close!'.

  1. tom said,

    Its a good lesson to learn and still remain in one piece. I find myself much more cautious after a couple of right hooks that nearly knocked me down. Though I must admit… somtimes the front of the line is so tempting…

  2. metaljaybird said,

    Tom, for me it is indeed a mental game. I take joy in passing cars stuck in traffic. There is plenty of shoulder, so I’m not going to line up in traffic, as that would be more risky.

    This case of mine was a case of stupidity.


Leave a Reply

