Metal Bike Commuter


I am slow.

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on October 1, 2008

I now realize how slow I am.  While climbing a hill yesterday evening, I was smoked.  Big time.  The same hill I’ve been climbing for months every evening.  This thing still kills me.  I don’t think I’ve been able to improve my time climbing this hill since I first started.

As I’m huffing and puffing along, a roadie rides past me with no apparent effort expressed on his face.  Yes, I tried to catch him, but no chance.  He was around the corner and up the hill before I could count to ten. 

It is a humbling experience to realize how slow you are.  I think I was about 15 years younger than him, too.  For years I was always the fastest.  Foot races were no problem.  Rounding the bases, opening up the fast break, I was always quick.  This was something I could count on and pride myself in.  Not now.

If you need me, I’ll be the slow guy in back of the pack.

2 Responses to 'I am slow.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I am slow.'.

  1. Dean said,

    You gotta getta road bike if you wanna hang with a roadie for a while. Road bikes are fun, usually lighter, way more aero than a mt. bike. Drop bars are pretty cool, lotsa hand positions to break things up, helpful with headwinds and downhills to get lowwww and fast.
    Newer road bikes are allright but kinda specialized, find an older garage saleish/ebay/craigslist steel race bike, make sure you can fit fatty road tires, maybe fenders/rack eyelets? You can make alot of old bikes kinda badass with big tires, say 32’s and you’ll be fine on alot of offroads, really rough stuff, and they’ll handle well on road, panaracer paselas have nice cush if you leave em at 85 or so psi. I kinda like the old school downtube shifters too, easy to get used to and no fuss.
    I rode my 70’s raleigh to the store tonight, panniers had maybe 25lbs of groceries, waterbottle, lock, lights, raincoat, flat-fix-stuff, tools, fenders, clips and straps, big fat 32 tires. The bike still felt fast, took some tight corners, handled great. I could easily ride no hands, and stand up on climbs.
    I bet you could hang with that guy that passed you, sometimes it is about the bike.

  2. metaljaybird said,

    Dean,

    I believe it was a case of the bike. You just gave me a lot to consider. You’re the second person to encourage me to get a road bike.

    I love the MTB, it was cheap, and hasn’t given me many issues. I’ll probably hang onto it, but now I’m going to be checking around for some good deals on a quality used Road bike (that can convert for the commuter).


Leave a Reply

