Metal Bike Commuter


Took a ride on Saturday

Posted in Uncategorized by metaljaybird on March 2, 2009

So I changed my flat tire finally. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize I bought tubes with presta valves, instead of the schrader valves. I looked at the valve for about 10 minutes, trying to figure it out. My floor pump has an adapter, so I had that part working, but when pumping, nothing happened!

Thank God for the intertubes! I finally found directions on loosening the valve, and then presto, the tube finally filled up.

Also, I had to battle to get my new bicycle computer installed. I think I was rushing things but, I eventually figured it out. Of course, now I need to learn how to change from KMs to Miles.

I took a spin around the Rockaway/Denville border. The trail I normally use was muddy as heck, but I sloshed through it, eventually.

It is good to be back.

One Response to 'Took a ride on Saturday'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Took a ride on Saturday'.

  1. Digital Dame said,

    I have the presta valves on my bike that I bought last year. I’d never heard of them until then, but apparently they’re the standard in Europe. Just be careful not to unscrew the little metal tip too far (I guess it can actually come off if you overdo it). Then you’re kind of hosed.


Leave a Reply

