Metal Bike Commuter


Skin peels like a banana

Posted in bike commute by metaljaybird on July 14, 2009

I’ll spare you any pictures, but I fell off today.  I was on a trail covered with gravel, and because my bike is rear heavy (panniers), it slipped out from under me, and I went head over handle bars into the trail. My first reaction was to make sure no one was looking.  My second reaction was to hope my laptop was not damaged (its fine).  My third was to check for any wounds.

Because I planted my hand in an attempt to break the fall, I suffered a minor flesh wound.  I’m sure I have cuts on my back that I haven’t checked out yet, but I’m ok.

Except the loose gravel, I’m trying to figure out how it happened.  It was so quick.  I wonder if I clamped down too hard on my front brake, and while going down hill, it pulled the rear tire up just enough to cause the spill.

Eventually I shook myself off, again made sure no one was looking, and continued on to work.

2 Responses to 'Skin peels like a banana'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Skin peels like a banana'.

  1. kendra said,

    I have one friend who wears cycling gloves every time he rides, because he thinks it will save his hands if he falls like that.

    I’m glad you’re ok!

  2. metaljaybird said,

    Thanks, I’m more cautious now when I take that route to work. The hill can be deceiving, so I make sure I slow down ahead of time before hitting that sharp turn.


Leave a Reply

