Metal Bike Commuter


I love that hill!

Posted in Uncategorized by metaljaybird on September 22, 2009

There’s this little gravel trail that I take as a shortcut that runs along the high-tension power lines.  I don’t know why, but the hill puts a huge smile on my face no matter what mood I’m in.  It makes me thankful for my front suspension, that’s for sure.

It is all downhill to work.  This hill has a way of fooling you.  First you do a tiny bit of climbing, reach the crest, from there you can see down to Route 10 by the Atlanta Bread Company, and Wendy’s across the highway.  Then you descend down the first hill, which is like a tiny bump compared to the second drop.  Woohoo!  Just like a roller coaster!

As the gravel settles more, I have to really keep in tune with the trail.  It has done some shifting, but if I keep my frame in  attack mode, I just plow through the small canyons and tears in the trail.

Anyway, it is my little escape into no man’s land.  I’ve yet to see anyone else on the trail, though I do see clues of other bikes and dirtbikes on it.

Chances are slim to none that I’ll ever attempt to climb this hill.

2 Responses to 'I love that hill!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I love that hill!'.

  1. crazyguyonabikenj said,

    I’ve never been on the path but I noticed you can see it fon both sides of Old Dover rd. (I’m assuming it’s the same path.since it runs along the high tension wires there too. It looks pretty steep but will try it one day when I’m a little more daring and on the mountain bike.

  2. metaljaybird said,

    Pete,

    The path is near Pfizer on 53. It starts on 53, and ends out behind the Dunkin Donuts parking lot on Route 10 and 202.

    I’ve wiped out just once, but I’ve noticed that the trail is shifting, so it’s a little bit fishy right now. I still take it, but while tampering my breaks instead of bombing.


Leave a Reply

